MOM AT THE REST HOME IN BREVARD, N.C.

(BELOW)  MOM AND I AT THE REST HOME IN BREVARD, NORTH CAROLINA, WHERE SHE LIVED UNTIL SHE PASSED AWAY. SHE LIVED AT THE HOME FOR APPROXIMATELY 2 1/2 YEARS, AND WAS ABOUT 83 WHEN THIS PICTURE WAS TAKEN. (CIRCA 1996) SHE PASSED AWAY THERE WITH ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE AT THE AGE OF 85. NO, THE DOG IS NOT SNICKERS. BOTH THE CAT AND THE DOG BELONG TO THE HOME. THEY KEEP THEM THERE TO MAKE THE PATIENTS FEEL MORE SECURE AND COMFORTABLE.

ABOVE-MOM AT 83, AND ME AT 59.

 
 
                             ABOVE- THE TWO WOMEN IN MY LIFE.  AS YOU CAN SEE BY THE SURROUNDINGS, THE REST HOME WAS PLEASANT, OR AT LEAST AS PLEASANT AS COULD BE EXPECTED IN A REST HOME. THE HOME WAS NEW, AND THE NURSES WERE VERY ATTENTIVE
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
About JUNIOR

I am a 77 year old retired Northrop-Grumman Corp. Facilities Engineer. I worked at Northrop's Pico Rivera and Palmdale facilities for a total of 13 years, and retired 1n 1995. I have been married to my high school sweetheart for over 54 fantastic years, and we have 3 excellent children (all boys) 7 wonderful grandchildren, and 1 great grandchild. My hobbies are playing the piano (actually, more like learning HOW to play the piano) and restoring a 1937 Plymouth, although sadly, I have made very little progress on it in recent years. I drove road race go-karts until the age of 71. I never grew up, I just got old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MOM AT THE REST HOME IN BREVARD, N.C.

  1. Darlene Crawford Elliott says:

    I have enjoyed looking at your very professional looking website. I am a Crawford, descending from John born 1752 maybe in Rutherford County NC. I was wondering if you have done your DNA yet with the familytreedna.org Crawford project. If not, I highly recommend it. My nephew did his and I’ve since learned that the oldest member of the family should be the one who does it. I wonder if your family if from NC.? I see your mom was in a nursing facility there in Brevard, NC. Our family mainly came from Jackson Co, and also Haywood Co., NC. We are trying to trace our American roots back before 1752 and suspect we were in PA and VA as we have DNA links to many families. Just can’t find that specific link. The more people who get DNA tested the better.

    • JUNIOR says:

      Hi Darlene, Thanks for the complement, and for writing. I descended from James, (1789-1858). I have been unable to find James’ parents, so maybe a DNA may help. James immigrated from Pennsylvania to Ohio about 1819, and he and his wife Abigail had 10 children. I am descended through James’ son John. (1811-1884) My mother was in the nursing home in Brevard NC after moving from Ohio about 1985. My mother and father both died in Brevard, as did my only sibling, John. Some of the Crawfords believe that James (1789-1858) came from Scotland, but no proof as yet. Cheers. Willard James Crawford. (1937-TBD)

Leave a Reply

