OUR BEST FRIENDS HENRY AND KAREN

HENRY AND KAREN AS TEENAGERS- CIRCA 1952.

HENRY AND KAREN AS TEENAGERS- CIRCA 1952.

HENRY AND KAREN CIRCA 2011

HENRY AND KAREN CIRCA 2011

Henry and Karen Lautzenheiser live in Justice, Ohio on a 20 acre farm.  I first met Henry at Heck’s Corners in Massillon, Ohio when we were in the eighth grade.  We lived a short walking distance from each other near Heck’s corners, and were friends through High School.  We both took auto mechanics, at Washington High School in Massillon, and he got really good at it.  I was too much of a goof off to learn much.  Henry pulled me and my brother John out of the Ohio Canal one winter, probably around 1949 when the three of us went ice skating.  We were probably a mile or two from home when John and I skated onto some thin ice and we both went through.  Henry was behind us, and fortunately, he didn’t go through the ice, or all three of would have probably drowned.  Henry laid down on the ice to spread his weight over a larger area, and then inched over to the opening in the ice  and was able to pull my brother and I out of the freezing ice water.  The three of us then skated back home.  By the time we got there, John and I were both icicles.  “Good times.”  (Except for the falling through the ice thing.)

THE DESERT GODDESS AND ME AT BOOT CAMP GRADUATION.

THE DESERT GODDESS AND ME AT BOOT CAMP GRADUATION, CIRCA 1954.

GRADATION FROM BOOT CAMP AT BAINBRIDGE, MARYLAND IN 1954.  I APPEAR TO BE DISTURBED ABOUT SOMETHING, AND THE GODDESS OF THE DESERT LOOKS CONCERNED.  (OF COURSE SHE WASN’T THE GODDESS OF THE DESERT IN 1954.)  MY MOTHER AND FATHER DROVE MY HONEY ALL THE WAY FROM MASSILLON, OHIO TO SPEND THE DAY WITH ME.  THE BAINBRIDGE BOOT CAMP IS NO LONGER IN EXISTENCE; NOW IT’S ALL CONDOS.

LEFT TO RIGHT, ME, HENRY, KAREN, GODDESS OF THE DESERT AT HENRY AND KAREN'S HOUSE, CIRCA 2011.

LEFT TO RIGHT, ME, HENRY, KAREN, GODDESS OF THE DESERT AT HENRY AND KAREN’S HOUSE, CIRCA 2011.

Henry and I enjoyed hunting and fishing as youngsters.  (Gezzer speak for young people.)  On one occasion, we went to Nimishella reservoir, a good fishing lake near Massillon, and rented a boat.  After we located a good fishing area, I cast my line out and immediately heard a yelp from Henry’s end of the boat.  The hook on my line had got stuck in Henry’s eyelid.  There was no way we could remove it without damaging his eyeball, so we quickly rowed to shore and talked a fisherman into taking us to the hospital.  The doctor in the emergency room was able to remove the hook without further damage, but I felt terrible about it for several days after we got home.  We were both lucky that Henry didn’t lose an eye that day.  Henry, for obvious reasons, and me because I would have had his loss hanging over my head for the rest of my life.  Fun times.  (Except for that hook in the eye thing.)

About JUNIOR

I am a 77 year old retired Northrop-Grumman Corp. Facilities Engineer. I worked at Northrop's Pico Rivera and Palmdale facilities for a total of 13 years, and retired 1n 1995. I have been married to my high school sweetheart for over 54 fantastic years, and we have 3 excellent children (all boys) 7 wonderful grandchildren, and 1 great grandchild. My hobbies are playing the piano (actually, more like learning HOW to play the piano) and restoring a 1937 Plymouth, although sadly, I have made very little progress on it in recent years. I drove road race go-karts until the age of 71. I never grew up, I just got old.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

